FANDOM


World at War Third Edition Rules

These are the third edition rules for the Axis and Allies expansion World at War by Xeno Games.

Contents

  • Builds
  • Multi-National Forces
  • Lend Lease
  • Strategic Movement
  • Order of Battle
  • Germany
  • Japan
  • Britain, the Commonwealth, France, Belgium and the Netherlands
  • The United States and China
  • Russia
  • Victory Conditions
  • Changes in initial setup
  • Builds

1.1 Infantry: Any territory may be used to build additional troops without the placing of factories. However, these rules must apply: 1. The Territory or Area must have a point value. 2. The Territory must have been friendly held for at least one turn. (changed) 3. Troops being build may only be infantry. 4. Infantry pays the normal cost. 5. The placing of infantry in a non factory Area is restricted to the point value of the Area. EXAMPLE: Brazil has a point value of three. The owning player may build up to three infantry per turn, without having to build a factory.

1.2 Factories: Factories may only be build in Areas that have a printed point value. The number of pieces being built is restricted to the point value of the Area. Factories may not produce Infantry. EXAMPLE: Brazil has point value of three. The owning player may build up to three units of any type and also place up to three infantry per turn.

1.3 Battleships: It takes 2 hits to sink a Battleship. Once hit, a Battleship is turned on it's side to reflect it's new status. A Battleship that has been hit once, may not be used in an attack.A newly Damaged Battleship can Return Fire for the duration of the combat. It defends on a 3, and moves normally. A damaged battleship may not perform shore bombardment. Battleships may be repaired. However, they must be in a friendly Land/Sea area in order to be repaired. The Land/Sea Area does not need to have a factory or a printed strength. Repairs can only be made during the Active player's turn and only during the build portion of the phase. On the turn a Battleship is repaired it may not move; it is considered in port being repaired. The cost of repairing a Battleship is determined by the roll of 2 D6 and adding both of them together. The total of both die is the number of IPCs to repair the ship. If you roll the dice to find the cost of repairs, you must pay that amount. Once sunk, a Battleship may not be repaired. Only a new one can be built.

1.4 Cruisers: Cruisers, representing smaller formations of ships, have been included in these rules. Cruisers attack on a 2 and defend on a 3, and move 2. The IPC cost is listed for each country on the reference chart. Cruisers may not be repaired, as 1 hit sinks them. Cruisers may perform shore bombardment. They hit on a 2 of less. They may not be used to transport ground troops.

1.5 Paratroopers: (changed) Paratroopers may be built by any Major Power at an additional cost of 1 IPC. Paratroopers may only be built on Areas containing a factory. Each major Power may have up to 4 Paratroopers. Paratroopers may be rebuilt if they are eliminated. They may only be dropped from a bomber. A bomber can carry one paratrooper and it may not perform any bombing missions for that turn. The bomber and the paratrooper unit must both start from the same Area. If a bomber, that is transporting a paratrooper is destroyed, the paratrooper is also eliminated. Paratroopers attack on a 2 and defend on a 2. Paratroopers revert to normal infantry after being dropped from a bomber.

1.6 Cost changes: Some cost changes have been made for better historical accuracy. You will find by looking at the new reference carts that the basic costs ranging from infantry to ships will vary from Nation to Nation. This allows for more historical accuracy based on economic and social conditions for each nation.

1.7 Technology: (changed) Tech rolls may be made at a cost of 7 IPCs for each Tech roll. Only 1 Technology may be attempted per turn by each player. However, more than one attempt for that Technology may be made. The player must state for which technology that he is making the attempt for and immediately, pays the appropriate IPCs to the bank before making the roll. Regardless of the outcome of the roll, no money is to be refunded for a failure. The US and Russia may not make technology rolls while they are neutral. Industrial technology does not lower the cost of building any infantry types. Once a certain Technology has been discovered, any player may have that technology on the very next turn by simply paying 10 IPCs to the bank for developing costs.

EXAMPLE: The U.S. player makes a Tech roll of Heavy bombers on turn 4. On turn 5 any player, including the Axis players, may build Heavy Bombers providing they pay the one time 10 IPC developing cost.

1.8 Heavy Bombers: Each Nation is limited to a stockpile of two Heavy Bombers per turn. They may be rebuilt if they are destroyed. Heavy Bombers must be replenished after each use. It cost 5 IPCs to re-arm a Heavy Bomber. Heavy Bombers are replenished at the start of the players turn, when the IPCs are spent, and need not be at a factory. Heavy Bombers are treated as normal bombers, if the 5 IPC point cost for re-arming is not paid. Provided that the 5 IPC cost is paid, Heavy Bombers may be used to transport two (2) Paratrooper units. However, the Heavy Bomber may only perform one mission at a time. They cannot be used for a bombing mission and be used for transporting paratroopers on the same turn.

1.9 Anti-Aircraft Guns: (changed) A/A guns may also be used as anti tank guns, but never as both in the same round. When used as an anti tank gun only armor units rather than air units are affected. The defending player must declare how his A/A gun is to be directed before the start of combat. Any number of A/A guns may be used in an area at a time. A/A guns may be destroyed in order to satisfy a loss.

1.10 Artillery: (changed) A/A guns may also be used as artillery when attacking. A/A guns may move and fire as artillery. When used as artillery A/A guns attack on a 1 and destroy only infantry and are treated as normal units. A/A guns always defend as A/A guns or anti tank guns and may not defend as artillery.

1.11 Rockets: (changed) Rockets may be used as long range artillery. However, you must have Rocket Technology in order to do so. Rockets, unlike normal artillery, may attack or defend from an adjacent Area. They may attack or defend in the same Area or be one Area away. Rockets attack on a 2. They may only be used to destroy infantry and are treated as normal units. Rockets may move and fire. Rockets firing from an adjacent area may not be destroyed to satisfy a loss. Only if they are in the same area as the attacking/defending units can they be destroyed to satisfy a loss.


Multi-National Forces

2.1 Allies: (changed) On the Allied side only American, British and Chinese units may share the same Area. The use of multi national force, other than Britain and France, for making an attack is prohibited. No Allied units are allowed to share the same Area with a Russian unit. Any time an Allied unit shares the same Area with a Russian unit any or all Allied units are considered interned and removed from play. The Russian player then collects immediately from the bank one (1) IPC for each unit removed. This reflects any salvageable material that the Russians can use. French forces are considered as British forces at all times. The British player conducts the French and British turns simultaneously and a combined force can be used to make an attack. When attacking a Multi National force the attacker has the option to declare which defending side will remove casualties first.

2.2 Axis: Japanese and German forces may share the same Area. However they may only defend as a Multi National Force. They may not attack as a Multi National Force. When attacking a Multi National force the attacker has the option to declare which defending side will remove casualties first.


Lend Lease

3.1 America: The U.S., until it is at war, may only give aid to the Allies in the form of money. The U.S. player may give Lend Lease to any Allied player. However, any money being paid to an Allied player is subject to Axis intervention. One Axis player rolls 1 D6 for each Allied player receiving Lend Lease. On a roll of 1 all money to that country is lost and returned to the bank. On a roll of 2 half the money is lost (round up). On a roll of 3 once third of the money is lost (round up). On a roll of 4-6 all money is safe.

The U.S. player may only make one attempt to each Nation per turn and only if that Nation is at war with an Axis Nation. While neutral, Russia for example, could not receive U.S. Lend Lease. The U.S. player may never spend more than half of his National Production on Lend Lease.

3.2 Britain: Britain may only give Lend Lease to the French and Minor Allies. The amount may never exceed 10 IPCs. It is subject to Axis intervention and a die roll as in 3.1 is made for the attempt.

3.3 All others: No other Nations may give Lend Lease to another Nation.


Strategic Movement

4.1 Railroads: Strategic Movement is in the form of Rail Capacity. Each Nation has it's own rail capacity. Strategic movement takes place during the non-combat portion of the turn. Rail movement is unlimited, provided that the owning player can trace a line that is uninterrupted by an enemy unit, does not cross a Neutral border, cross a Sea Area, or a Ocean area. The Suez Canal, Panama Canal, or the Turkish Straits do not block rail movement. Only units that did not move in the turn sequence are eligible to use rail movement.You cannot rail troops into or through a territory you just captured.


Order of Battle

5.1 Sequence of play:

  • GERMANY (Has two impulses on first turn only.)
  • BRITAIN and FRANCE
  • JAPAN (May use two impulses as a surprise attack.)
  • RUSSIA
  • UNITED STATES and CHINA

Germany

6.1 Declaration of War: Germany starts the game by being at war with Britain, France and Poland. Germany may declare war on the U.S., Russia and China at any time, at no IPC cost. Germany may invade any Neutral country at any time and does not pay any IPC cost for invading Neutrals, except Switzerland. (See Switzerland.)

6.2 Axis Germany: Axis Germany consists of the combined countries of Germany, Italy and Rumania. Rumania, due to map size, includes Bulgaria and Hungary. There are some restrictions as to the use of these Axis Minors. However, the restrictions do not affect the IPCs that Germany is to receive. There are also some penalties that the Germans suffer during first time invasion attempts by the Allies of these Axis Minors. However, those penalties are suffered only once and are not to be suffered during later attempts.

6.3 Italy: German forces in Italy, Libya and Italian East Africa may not be moved, or attack until France has been conquered. They may defend normally. They are activated immediately on the turn that France falls.Germany can non-combat units out of Italy and Italian Territories the turn France is conquered by Germany. Should France fall on Germany's first impulse, Italian units may be moved and used during the second impulse for any attack. The first time that Italy has been conquered by an Allied player, the German player must pay 4 IPCs to the conquering player and 3 German infantry units must be eliminated. The German player decides which infantry is to be eliminated.

6.4 Rumania: Axis forces in Rumania may not be moved, nor can they attack until Germany declares war on Russia. They may defend normally. Additional forces may not be built there, unless at war. German units may pass through freely provided their movement does not end in Rumania. Once Germany is at war with Russia, Rumanian restrictions no longer apply. If at war with Russia and the first time that Rumania is conquered, the German player must pay 3 IPCs to the conquering player and 2 German infantry must be eliminated. The German player decides which infantry is to be removed. This penalty is not suffered if Rumania is Neutral.

6.5 Finland: (transferred&changed) If, Finland has not been conquered by an Allied player by the end of Game turn 1; Finland and all of her troops are then under immediate German protection. Finland is activated on the turn that Germany attacks Russia. Russia may not, until at war with Germany, make another attempt to attack Finland. All Finnish infantry, defending Finland defend on a 3.

6.6 German Surrender: Germany does not surrender as long as Italy remains active. If, Germany is conquered, the German player must pay half of his IPCs, immediately, to the conquering player. The German player must also eliminate four infantry. The German player decides which units are to be destroyed.

6.7 German-Russian Treaties: Until Germany declares war on Russia, or the beginning of game turn 5, Germany receives an additional 5 IPCs per game turn from the bank. This represents vital resources that were important to the German war effort.

6.8 German Influence: (see Finland) SPAIN: On the game turn that Germany receives 50 or more IPCs, the German player may attempt to influence Spain in joining the Axis. The German player rolls 1 D6, and on a roll of 1-2 the attempt is successful. On a successful roll Spain and all of her armies and territories immediately join the Axis, at no cost. Use German counters for Spanish troops and adjust the IPC level accordingly. Only one attempt per game turn may be made. When adding up the IPC total the free IPCs that Germany receives from Russia and Sweden do not count as the total.

TURKEY: On the game turn that the Germ an player receives 55 or more IPCs, Germany may attempt to influence Turkey in joining the Axis. Apply Spanish rule.

IRAQ: In the game turn that Germany conquers Egypt, Germany may attempt to influence Iraq in joining the Axis. Germany may influence Iraq every turn they hold Egypt. Apply Spanish Rule.

SWEDEN: Historically, Sweden supplied Germany with vital resources and as long as Sweden has not been conquered by an Allied player, the German player receives 2 IPCs per turn from Sweden.

CHILE and ARGENTINA: The German player may foil any attempt by the U.S. from using it's influence on these two countries by making it more expensive for the U.S. player, and at a greater risk! The German player waits until the U.S. player attempts Economic Conquest of either, or both countries and pays any number of IPCs to the bank. The U.S. player must then match the additional IPCs or give up the attempt, in which case all the money from both sides is forfeited.

EXAMPLE: Chile is worth 2 IPCs, the American player must pay 4 IPCs for the attempt. The German player decides he will spend 2 IPCs and pays the bank. The American player must now pay an additional 2 IPCs or give up the attempt. If the American player pays the 2 IPCs, he may then proceed with the attempt, but with a greater risk. On a roll of 1-2 the attempt is successful and the American player adds Chile to his Territories, however on a roll of six Chile joins the Axis. Germany may do this at any time the U.S player makes an attempt to influence Chile, or Argentina. Should the German player not attempt to influence, then the U.S. player may make a normal influence roll and not risk losing Argentina and Chile to the Germans.

6.9 Hitler Assassination: The German player may make one roll on 1 D6 in attempt to assassinate Hitler. On a roll of 1-2 the attempt is successful and Germany gets a permanent 5 IPC increase per turn for the remainder of the Game. On a roll of 3-5 there is no result. On a roll of 6 the German player must immediately destroy and remove from play 2 infantry units and 2 armor units. The German player decides which units are to be eliminated.

6.10 SS Panzers: (changed)

Beginning on the fifth game turn, the German player may build four (4) Armor units as SS Panzers. SS Panzers can only be built on factory sites and cost 6 IPC. SS Panzers have an attack factor of 4 and defend on a 5. They may be rebuilt if they are destroyed.

6.11 SS Panzergrenadiers: (changed) Beginning on the third game turn, the German player may build six (6) infantry as SS Panzergrenadiers. SS Grenadiers may only be built on factory sites and cost 4 IPC. SS Grenadiers have an attack factor of 2, defend on a 3 and a movement of 2. They may be rebuilt if they are destroyed. They are considered Armor for transportation purposes.

6.12 German U-Boat Pens: (changed) For a cost of six (6) IPCs the German player may build and place one U-Boat pen. The pen must be built on a factory site and on a coastal Area. Once placed the pen may not be moved. The pen has a permanent A/A capacity that is used to defend subs from attacking aircraft. The pen may only be used against attacking aircraft. Combat is treated like a normal A/A gun, except that the pen defends on a 2. Each hit scored by attacking aircraft causes one loss to a submarine. A hit scored by attacking aircraft, on an empty pen damages it. It takes two hits to destroy the pen. A damaged pen may be rebuilt at a cost of 3 IPCs. Any number of pens may be built, but only one may be placed on an Area. Only the German player may build sub pens and he may use other colors that are available.

6.13 Switzerland: When invading Switzerland, the German player must pay the bank 10 IPCs. The German player is not allowed to use tanks in his attack. All Swiss infantry defend on a 3.

6.14 Blitzkrieg: In order to simulate German surprises and earlier successes the German starts the game with two impulses. The German player must use this two impulse move on the first turn only. It may not be used thereafter or in any other game turn. Beginning on game turn two Germany resorts to normal game sequences.

FIRST IMPULSE: 1. German player pays for builds. 2. German player makes his moves. 3. German player makes his attacks. 4. If France falls on the first impulse, resolve Vichy Rule immediately. 5. German player makes any non combat moves with only those units that did not previously move. 6. German player places his builds. If the German player declared war on Russia he may place any number of builds in Rumania. if France fell on the first impulse then the German player may place units in Italy and Italian territories. 7. End of first impulse.

SECOND IMPULSE: I. German player may move any or all of his pieces again. If France fell on the first impulse the German player may use and move Italian pieces and attack. 2. German player makes any additional attacks. 3. German player makes any additional non combat moves with any unit that did not move during the second impulse. 4. The German player now adjusts the IPC level accordingly and collects his money from the bank. 5. End of second impulse.

Planes cannot land in areas on the 2nd impulse if the territory was just captured during the first impulse.

6.14 Rail Capacity: Germany has a rail capacity of 4. The German player may rail any four land units. German rail capacity may only be used in Europe and Asia.


Japan

7.1 Declarations of War: Japan starts the game by being at war with China. The Chinese conflict is not a declaration of war against the U.S., Britain and her Allies, nor Russia. Japan may attack any Major power at any turn, except Russia. Japan may attack any Neutral Country that it wishes and does not have to pay any IPC cost when attacking a Major power or a Neutral Country.

7.2 Sino-Soviet Pact: Japan may not attack Russia until the sixth game turn. Should Russia declare war on the fifth game turn and attack, all Japanese forces defend normally.

7.3 Thailand: Japanese forces in Thailand may not move or attack unless Japan is at war with a Major power. If attacked first, Japanese units defend normally. The Japanese player may not place builds in Thailand until Japan declares war on a Major Power.

7.4 Influence: FRENCH INDO-CHINA: Japan may attempt to influence French Indo-China if a Vichy government has been established there. If, a Vichy Indo-China exists, Japan may pay 2 IPCs to the bank roll 1 D6. On a roll of 1-2 the attempt is successful, and all forces in French Indo-China come under Japan's control. Replace Vichy forces with Japanese forces. A failure would not prevent the Japanese player from collecting his IPCs from the Vichy Government. Japan may only make one attempt per turn.

7.5 Sneak Attack: Japan may do 1 two-impulse attack. This attack may come at any turn but it is to be used only once. There is no game turn limit as to when it is to be used and it may be postponed indefinitely. Follow the same two-impulse sequence as described in Germany. (See 6.14)

7.6 Banzai Attack: (changed) The Japanese player has 3 Banzai attacks per turn at no additional cost. All participating infantry units attack on a 2 for one round of combat only. Once a Banzai attack has been declared the Japanese player must see the attack to a conclusion and he is not allowed to call off the attack. Japan may use 3 Banzai attacks for each impulse of their sneak attack,

7.7 Kamikaze Attack: The Japanese player may perform one Kamikaze attack per turn on a target of his choosing at no additional cost. The fighter or bomber performing the attack may use up all of its movement to reach the target and gets one round of combat and attacks on a five or less. The Kamikaze fighter or bomber is then destroyed and removed from play. If a hit occurs, the target chosen by the Japanese player must be destroyed and removed from play. Or in the case of a Battleship, one hit of damage must be inflicted immediately. Japan can only use 1 Kamikaze for the entire Sneak Attack. Factories and AA guns can be Kamikazed

7.8 Home Defense: All Japanese infantry defending the Island of Japan, defend on a 3.

7.9 Japanese Surrender: Japan surrenders when Japan is successfully occupied by an Allied player. All surviving Naval, Air and Ground units may continue fighting and attempt to retake Japan during the next Japanese turn phase. If no such an attempt can be made, or fails, any surviving Japanese forces are removed from play and Japan must surrender all IPCs to the conquering player.

7.10 Rail Capacity: Japan may rail any 2 ground units and it is restricted to Asia.


Britain, the Commonwealth, France, Belgium and the Netherlands

8.1 Declarations of War: Britain starts the game turn by being at war with Germany. Britain and her Allies may not attack Japan unless attacked first by the Japanese, or until game turn 6. . Until Britain is formally at war with Japan the British player may not hinder Japanese movement on the high seas or place any naval unit on any Japanese Land/Sea Area containing a Factory. Until Britain is formally at war with Japan no British units are allowed to be moved into China to bolster Chinese defenses.

When Britain invades a Neutral Country the British player must roll 1 D6. The roll is successful if it is higher than the printed IPC level of that Neutral Country and combat occurs. If the roll is equal to or less, the attempt is unsuccessful. If the attempt fails, the British player must place all of the participating units to the nearest British held Area and pay the bank 5 IPCs. The British player is then never allowed to invade that Neutral Country again. Britain must possess 5 IPCs should he want to invade a Neutral Country in case the attempt is thwarted by the dice roll.

8.2 Conquest of Britain: If Britain is conquered by an Axis player the British player pays 10 IPCs to the conquering player and drops it's IPC level by 8. The British player then announces a Government in Exile and establishes a new Capitol in either Canada, Australia, South Africa or India. Upon the establishment of a new Capitol, the new Area which is chosen, then receives twice the number of IPCs. Britain is only conquered if these four Commonwealth countries are also conquered.

8.3 Poland: If Poland is not conquered by the German player at the end of the first game turn, Poland falls under British control and British pieces are used to replace Polish pieces. The British player is then allowed to build there and adjusts his IPC level accordingly.

8.4 France: The British player controls all of France and her Colonies and Minors unless an sixth or seventh player is active. However, all French money must be kept separately, and is to be used only to build French Troops in Free French Territories or other Minors. The British player may use British money to build French Forces, however this can only occur as Lend Lease and is subject to Axis intervention. France is also eligible for U.S. lend lease. (See 3.1)

8.5 Fall of France, and Vichy France: When France is conquered by an Axis player, the British player gives the conquering player 3 IPCs from the French money and lowers France's IPC level accordingly. The British player then rolls 1 D6 for each French Fleet in the Atlantic and Mediterranean. On a roll of 1 the French Fleet joins the Axis. On a roll of 2-4 the fleet is scuttled and removed from play. On a roll of 5 the fleet becomes Vichy French and immediately moved to the nearest Vichy Land Sea Area. On a roll of 6 the fleet is under British control and French pieces are replaced with British pieces. The British players then uses the same steps to resolve the fate of the French Fleet in the Med. The British player then rolls 1 D6 for each French Territory that is not already controlled by the Axis. On a roll of 1-3 the Territory becomes Vichy, and on a roll of 4-6 the Territory remains Free French. The French Territories are: Morocco, Algeria, French West Africa, French Equatorial Africa, Madagascar, Syria, French Indo-China, the Mauritius Islands, the Fiji Islands and the Society Islands. The German player then places German Control markers on all Vichy Territories in Africa, the Middle East and Indian Ocean and removes any non French forces from play, and adjusts his IPC level accordingly. The Japanese player would then do the same for French Indo-China and any Islands in the Pacific Ocean. The British player will then make the adjustments on the French IPC level, subtracting the points for any Territories that France may have lost. No IPC payments are made for lost Territory.

8.6 Treatment of Vichy Territories: Although the Axis players get IPCs each turn from the Vichy Territories, they are never allowed to build troops there, nor may the Axis troops pass through Vichy Territory. If a Vichy Territory is attacked by an Allied player and not captured the Axis player would then replace the Vichy units with his own and be allowed to build. However, this only effects those Territories that are attacked and not captured by an Allied Player. Vichy Territories recaptured by British, Free French or U.S. forces resort to Free French. If, for any reason any Vichy Territory is attacked by an Axis player, all Vichy Territories, unless occupied by an Axis player resort to Free French. Vichy troops defend at normal no matter who is attacking. Vichy forces may not move during the game. If a Vichy Navy exists it may not be used to impede or hinder any Allied fleet. If a Vichy Naval unit is attacked by an Allied player the defending units defend normally. If a Vichy Territory is recaptured by an Allied player and the Territory contains a Vichy fleet the fleet then becomes Free French.

8.7 British Influence: SAUDI ARABIA: Whenever Egypt is conquered by an Axis player, Britain may attempt to influence Saudi Arabia. The British player pays the bank 1 IPC for the attempt and rolls 1 D6. On a roll of 1-2 the attempt is successful and Saudi Arabia joins the Commonwealth. Only one attempt per turn may be made. On a successful attempt, adjust the IPC level and place the appropriate amount of troops there using British pieces. Britain may influence Saudi Arabia every turn an Axis player holds Egypt.

8.8 British Home Defense: When ever Britain is invaded all British Infantry defend on a 3 and all fighters defend on a 5. This is only good in the British Home Country.

8.9 Rail Capacity: Britain Has a Rail Capacity of 2. It may be used to transport any two ground units in Asia, Africa and Europe. The U.S. player is allowed to use British Rail Capacity.


The United States and China

9.1 Declarations of War: The U.S. may not attack an Axis Player unless it is attacked first, or until game turn 6. The U.S. is at war when Japan attacks Britain and her Allies. The Japan-China conflict has no bearing on an American entry into the war. However, China is eligible for Lend Lease. The U.S. is at total war with Germany and Japan if Germany attacks any Country or Territory in North and South America. The U.S. is at total war with Japan and Germany if Japan attacks any British, French, Belgian and Dutch Territories. The U.S. may not invade a Neutral Country. Instead, the U.S. must attempt to persuade a Neutral Country through the use of Economic Aid. (See 9.2) The U.S. Player may not while the U.S. is Neutral, hamper or interfere with Axis Naval or ground units. The U.S. player while neutral cannot place U.S. units in Britain, Africa, Canada, Australia and Asia. No U.S. fleet movement is allowed in any Land/Sea Area that contains an Axis Factory. For all intends and purposes the Axis player can always choose to ignore and pass through any U.S. fleet while the U.S. is neutral. While the U.S. is neutral the U.S. player may not close off the Panama Canal to an Axis player.

9.2 Conquest Through Economic Aid: 1. Conquest through Economic Aid is limited to the Western Hemisphere. 2. The U.S. player announces which Minor country, or Countries he wishes to gain. 3. The U.S. player then pays the Bank twice the IPC value of the Country. 4. The U.S. player then rolls 1 D6. On a result equal to or less than the printed IPC value of the country the roll is successful and that Country belongs to the U.S. player, including any Armed Forces. Refer to the Minor Country Chart for the Armed Forces, and use U.S. playing pieces. The U.S. may place build there. Adjust IPC levels accordingly. 5. The German player may seek to block U.S. conquest of Argentina and Chile. (See 6.8.) 6. The U.S. may make one attempt per country each turn.

9.3 National Guard (new) The first time that either the Eastern US, Western US, Alaska or Hawaii are attacked by an Axis player, the US player automatically activates the National Guard at no cost. Up to six Guard units may be placed. They may only be placed in the Eastern and Western US. Once activated they are considered normal infantry.

9.4 Marines and Rangers: (changed) Beginning on game turn 5, the U.S. player may designate 4 infantry during any amphibious invasion as either Marines or Rangers at no additional cost. Marines and Rangers attack on a 2. Units designated as such, revert back to normal infantry after the attack.

9.5 Armored Infantry: (changed) Beginning on game turn 5, the U.S. player may build up to 6 infantry as Armored Infantry at an additional cost of 1 IPC each. They must be built on a factory site. Armored infantry has a movement of 2, attack on a 2 and defend on a 3. Units destroyed may be rebuilt.

9.6 Transports: (changed) Beginning on game turn 5, The U.S. player may designate at no additional cost 2 transports to carry 1 infantry and 1 armor at any time. For transport purposes, an armored infantry unit counts as an armor unit.

9.7 Peace Time Production: Unless it is at war, or game turn 6. The U.S. only receives 17 IPCs per turn for builds. The remaining IPCs can only be used for Lend Lease or Economic Conquest. Until it is at war the U.S. may only give aid to the Allies in the form of Lend Lease and only to those Allies that are at war with the Axis.

9.8 Surrender: The U.S. surrenders when both the Western and Eastern portions have been conquered by an Axis player. The Axis receives an immediate victory if they conquer the U.S.

9.9 Rail Capacity: The U.S. has a rail capacity of 6 and it may be used to rail British troops. Rail movement is restricted to the Western hemisphere.

9.10 China: The U.S. player must keep all Chinese money separate from U.S. money. Except for Lend Lease, no U.S. money is allowed to build troops in China. All Lend Lease is subject to Axis Intervention. No Chinese money is allowed to be used for U.S. builds. The U.S. may have up to 1 Fighter unit in China. This unit is considered to be an all volunteer force. It is considered to be a Chinese and in no way reflects U.S. and Japanese relations if it is destroyed. This unit is the only American unit that is allowed in China. If destroyed, the U.S. player may transfer another "Volunteer" fighter to China. No U.S. troops may be built in China. The U.S. may not build a factory in China.

9.11 Chinese Infantry: When attacking, all Chinese infantry may or may not attack. The U.S. player rolls 1 D6 for the results: On a roll of 1: The attack is called off. On a roll of 2: Only 20% of the infantry participate. (Round up) On a roll of 3: Only 40% of the infantry participate. (Round up) On a roll of 4: Only 60% of the infantry participate. (Round up) On a roll of 5: Only 80% of the infantry participate. (Round up) On a roll of 6: All Infantry may participate

Chinese infantry may never attack outside of China, except for Manchuria and Korea. (Which the Chinese believe, for some reason, is theirs. Only Chinese infantry are required to make the participation roll.

9.12 Rail Capacity: China has a rail capacity of 2, which is limited to China. The U.S. may use Chinese Rails.


Russia

10.1 Declarations of War: (changed) Russia may not attack Germany or Japan, until game turn 5, or unless Germany attacks first. Russia may attack China and not be at war with the U.S.

RUMANIA Russia may attack Rumania prior to game turn 5. However, Russia must pay Germany 25 IPCs in Reparations immediately.

FINLAND Russia may attack Finland only on the first game turn. The Russian player must remove three times the number of casualties that are inflicted.

Russia may attack any Neutral Country at no IPC cost. Russia may not receive Lend Lease until at war with an Axis Power. While Neutral the Russian player may not hinder or impede Axis Naval movement or builds.

10.2 Limited production: Until it is attacked by Germany, or until Game turn 5, Russia only gets 16 IPCs per turn regardless of the IPC level. Attacking a Neutral Country, Finland, Rumania, or China does not put Russia on a war time level; only an attack by Germany or Japan can.

10.3 Russia, Friend or Foe?: Russia is unique and that it is actually an uncooperative Ally and in reality a separate player. In truth the Game should be called Axis, allies & Russia. Historically it was the Russians who gained vast territories and major concessions from the Allies as well as a defeated Axis. In the spirit of things a separate Russian player should have his own Victory Conditions: The Russian player wins a decisive victory over the his Allies, if the Allies win and he collects more IPCs than either Britain or the U.S. The Russian player never Liberates a country or a colony for an Allied player. The Russian player must keep whatever he recaptures or conquers. Russian forces may enter (and thus conquer) any British Commonwealth controlled Territories that are left unoccupied by Britain without declaring War except for: Britain, Canada, N. Ireland, Australia, India, New Zealand, South Africa and Egypt. Russia may never deliberately enter an area containing U.S. or British forces in order to expedite their removal from play without a formal Declaration of War, in which case normal combat occurs. Russia may attack the volunteer fighter in China.

10.4 Purges: On the first game turn that it is attacked, Russia is limited to only one counter attack. This attack may come from one or more Area, but only one Area may be attacked. However, Russia does get an immediate bonus of 20 IPCs. This is a one time bonus; it may not be reduce by Strategic Bombing! Units purchased with this 20 IPCs are placed on the board before the combat movement portion of the Russian player's turn; they may move and be used in combat.

10.5 Factories: Russian Factories may move. They are allowed to move 2 areas and not build, or move 1 area and do 1 build. The movement of Factories cost 1 Rail Capacity per factory. Russia may self destruct any factory.

10.6 Conquest of Russia and Scorched Earth: Russia never surrenders! If, Russia falls into Axis hands, a new Capitol is designated. The new Capitol must be in an unconquered area. The new Capitol is then worth 8 IPCs and the old area is worth 1 IPC to the Axis player. Regardless of the distance, the Factory is moved to the new Capitol. However, no rail movement may be made by the Russian player for that turn whenever the Capitol is moved. If no suitable site is found for a new Capitol, the factory is destroyed. The Russian player is then limited to building only partisans until an area is liberated by either regular Russian troops, partisans, or another Allied player. The Axis players receives no IPCs from the Russian player.

10.7 Partisans: (changed) Russia and only Russia is allowed to build Partisan units. Partisans cost 1 IPC. They may not move. They may not attack. Partisans defend on a 1. Partisans may only be placed on vacated areas under Axis control, but never outside of Russia. Only 1 Partisan unit may be build per area per turn. Whenever, an area has three Partisans, they may link up to form one normal Russian Infantry, but never a Guards unit. Partisans block Axis rail movement. Partisans may be used to recapture Russian Territories. (Use Russian control marker to represent Partisans.) Partisans are removed from play whenever a normal Russian unit enters that area. However, they are allowed to link up and form a normal Russian infantry unit.

10.8 Guards: (changed) Beginning with Game turn 5, the Russian player is allowed to build up to 6 infantry as Guards. Guards cost an additional 1 IPC each. They must be built at a factory. Guards attack on a 2 and defend on a 3 and have a movement allowance of 2. They may be rebuilt if destroyed.

10.9 Rail Capacity: Russia has a Rail Capacity of 3 per turn and it is limited to Asia. Russia may only use 1 Rail Capacity in Europe.


Victory Conditions

11.0 The Allies win if both Germany and Japan have been conquered. Germany and Japan win whenever their combined IPC total is 20 IPCs higher than all of the Allies combined. The Axis will live a until the next game if they conquer Britain and reduce Russia to a Partisan State, or if they conquer the U.S.

11.1 MINOR NEUTRAL COUNTRIES Minor Neutral Countries are inactive unless activated by a Major Power, or invaded by a Major Power. Once activated, either through war, political, or economic events the Minor Power can contribute his armies and IPC production to a Major Power. If invaded, let's say, by an Allied player, the Minor Power successfully repels the invader, the Minor Power would then become an Ally of the nearest Axis Power. All forces, any or all overseas possessions, and IPC Production could then be freely used by that Axis Power, as if it were his own. The reverse would be true if an Axis Power were the invader. Again, the Minor Power would then Ally itself with the nearest Allied Power. Two of the Minor Powers have overseas possessions. They are Spain and Portugal. An attack on their Territories is considered an act of War.

11.2 SETTING UP NAVAL UNITS (new) On the map there are several Land Areas with 2 or more Sea Zones. when setting up for the following areas these rules apply:

Great Britain: The British player may place his naval units in either the east Sea Zone or the west Sea Zone. Eastern Australia: British naval units may not be placed on the southwest coast sea zone. Suez: British naval units must be placed on the Mediterranean sea coast. Not in the Red sea. Italian East Africa: The German player may not place his naval unit in the Red sea. Western United States: The US player must set his naval units on the Pacific side, not the Gulf of Mexico. Karelia: The Russian player must place his naval units on the north (White sea) sea zone and not the south (Baltic sea) sea zone. Factories cannot be used to build Infantry, only to build Units.


12 Changes in the initial setup and IPC values

These are the changes in the initial setup and the IPC values for the 3rd edition of Xeno's World at War.

IPC changes

Evenki National Okrug SSR is now worth 2 IPC. Novosibirsk SSR is now worth 1 IPC.

Initial Unit Placement changes

Germany

  • Germany: 8 men
  • Rumania: 4 men

UK and the Commonwealth

  • Britain:

2 transports Fleet that started on the word North now starts at Eastern Canada. Fleet that started at India now starts at the Maldives Island

United States

  • Hawaii: 1 fighter on land, 1 fighter on the AC

China

  • North China: 6 men, 1 AA
  • Hofeh: 5 men
  • South China: 4 men, 1 fighter, 1 AA
  • Kwangtung: 4 men
  • Tsinghai: 2 men Sinkiang: 2 men

USSR

  • Soviet Far East: 3 men
  • Kamchatka: 1 men
  • France: no changes
  • Japan: no change

Unit costs

Chinese AA guns cost 6 IPC, Submarines cost 10 IPC

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.